Table of Contents

Download Journal



Ronald Louis Burkes, MD, FRCPC
Professor of Medicine, University of Toronto
Medical oncologist, Mount Sinai Hospital/Princess Margaret Hospital/ University Health Network in Toronto
Dr. Burkes was the program director for the medical oncology training program at the University of Toronto from 1996 to 2005 and director of the Clinical Teaching Unit at Princess Margaret Hospital (PMH) from 1999 to 2005. He has won numerous teaching awards including departmental and university-wide awards, the Anderson Award in Program Development and the Hasselback Award for Teaching Excellence at PMH. He has presented at many local, provincial, national, and international meetings.
His research interests include lung and GI malignancies, and he has numerous publications including 57 peer-reviewed, 107 non–peer-reviewed and two book chapters.

Susan F. Dent, BSc., MD, FRCPC
Associate Professor of Medicine, University of Ottawa
Medical oncologist, Ottawa Hospital Cancer Center
Dr. Dent obtained her MD at McMaster University and completed her postgraduate training in internal medicine and medical oncology at the University of Ottawa. Her areas of interest include breast cancer, new drug development, and research ethics. She has a number of peer-reviewed publications and has regularly contributed to non–peer-reviewed Canadian oncology journals. She is a member of the Cancer Care Ontario Breast Disease Site Group Guidelines Committee, the vice chair for the Ontario Cancer Research Ethics Board and a member of the National Cancer Institute of Canada Auditing and Monitoring Committee.

Glenwood Dillon Goss, M.B., B.Ch., FCP(SA), FRCPC
Head of Medical Oncology, Ottawa Hospital Regional Cancer Centre
Director of the lung cancer program, Ottawa Hospital Regional Cancer Centre
Professor of Medicine, University of Ottawa
Dr. Goss graduated from the University of Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa and completed his post-graduate training at the Royal Marsden Hospital in London, England. He is a member of the National Cancer Institute of Canada Investigational New Drug Executive Committee and Lung Site Executive Committee. His principal areas of research relate to lung cancer and investigation of new drugs. Dr. Goss was a founding member of the Canadian Association of Medical Oncologists (1987) and has served as president.

Vera Hirsh, MD, FRCPC
Chief of the Hematology-Oncology Service, Santa Cabrini Hospital
Associate Professor, Medicine and Oncology, McGill University
Associate Physician, Oncology Service, at the Royal Victoria, Montreal General, and Montreal Chest Hospitals
With a current practice in both hematology and oncology, Dr. Vera Hirsh is an associate professor of medicine and oncology at McGill University. Her research at the Quebec Pulmonary Unit focuses on the treatment of lung cancer, and she continues to chair ongoing international chemotherapy trials. Dr. Hirsh chaired the Quebec Lung Cancer Committee to establish guidelines for the treatment of lung cancer. In addition, she has published abstracts, articles, and book chapters. Dr. Hirsh is a member of advisory boards for many pharmaceutical companies and the Medical Oncology Standing Committee of RTOG.

Jean Maroun, MD, FRCPC, FRCP (London)
Medical oncologist, Ottawa Hospital Regional Cancer Centre
Professor of Medicine, University of Ottawa
Dr. Maroun chairs the Ontario Provincial Gastrointestinal Practice Guidelines Committee. His principal interest lies in clinical research into new drug development and new combinations in the treatment of colorectal cancer. Dr. Maroun has long experience in the management of GI malignancies and his clinical and basic research focus is on thymidylate synthase inhibitors. He is a past president of the Canadian Oncology Societies and the Canadian Association of Medical Oncologists. Dr. Maroun has published extensively in peer-reviewed journals and is involved provincially and nationally in numerous academic and research committees.